Does a Masters degree help?!?!?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ritly

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

I am a recent graduate that holds an Undergrad in Neuroscience and a Masters in Dev Biology. I submitted a paper for publication and my GPA is 3.8. I haven't taken the DAT yet....but plan on taking it at the end of October :eek: My question is, will my masters be considered at all when applying to these schools as I don't have all the pre-req classes completed and its late in the game!??? Any suggestions would be a big help :D

Members don't see this ad.

I think that you submitting late will hurt you even more than your masters will help.

edkNARF said:
I think that you submitting late will hurt you even more than your masters will help.

I agree. While your masters will do no harm at all, and might even give you a certain boost, it is very important to get that application in asap.

Members don't see this ad :)
A masters verse a undergrad,

masters wins, handsdown. If Rity gets a decent DAT score, he will get in this cycle regardless of when he applies. Might be the last person, but I think he really has a shot.

The amount of work that goes into a masters, especially in biology is by far more indepth than our silly undergrad degree. D-schools respect that, especially in this day in age.

HD

hockeydentist said:
A masters verse a undergrad,

masters wins, handsdown. If Rity gets a decent DAT score, he will get in this cycle regardless of when he applies. Might be the last person, but I think he really has a shot.

The amount of work that goes into a masters, especially in biology is by far more indepth than our silly undergrad degree. D-schools respect that, especially in this day in age.

HD

Thanks! Encouranging words! :)

Where did you get your undergrad degree? I also got an undergrad in Neuro...I didnt know there were many programs around.