Can you apply to Med schools a year early? And should I?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shawno19

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm wondering if it's possible to apply to medical schools for a incoming class two years away? And if so, should I even do that?

I'm a pre-med student and am scheduled to graduate spring 2013, but my girlfriend doesn't graduate till 2014 and I don't want to go to med school in central Texas, so I am leaning towards not starting medical school till fall 2014. My thinking is, I can find out a year early where I'll be going or I won't get in, and I'll have a year to work on my application to make sure I get in next time.

On the other hand I'm taking Orgo 1&2 and Calculus this year then Gen Physics 1&2 and bio-chem next summer / senior year. So maybe it would be better to wait till after senior year when I would be more prepared for the MCAT and have a more filled out ECs resume.

What do you think?

-Shawn

Members don't see this ad.

you should only apply when your application is at its strongest and you are 100% willing to matriculate with your class if accepted. do not go into the application process with the intention of waiting an extra year to matriculate, because schools could easily deny your request for a deferral if they chose to.

Hi, I'm wondering if it's possible to apply to medical schools for a incoming class two years away? And if so, should I even do that?

I'm a pre-med student and am scheduled to graduate spring 2013, but my girlfriend doesn't graduate till 2014 and I don't want to go to med school in central Texas, so I am leaning towards not starting medical school till fall 2014. My thinking is, I can find out a year early where I'll be going or I won't get in, and I'll have a year to work on my application to make sure I get in next time.