FAP: Read before signing HPSP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dry dre

All hat, no cattle
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Introduction/disclaimer
This program should be considered by ANYONE considering applying for or taking an HPSP scholarship. I made an good faith effort to be factual, please correct wrong numbers and information. I am biased in thinking that this (or the reserves/guard) is a better route for anyone not previously associated with the military to take towards service as a military physician (note, I’m a veteran). For prior service and/or military brats, the HPSP makes sense. Note I didn’t get into active duty pay etc, which can be found elsewhere.

This sticky is intended to summarize several components of the Financial Assistance Program (FAP) that likely would be of interest to pre-med and medical students considering entering the military the help pay for medical school. This program is also of interest to current or soon-to-be residents considering practicing in the military.

In very short, the FAP is financial program that individuals sign into immediately before residency, or while in residency. The application process may be started before starting residency, but the contract starts when you sign (for practical purposes of discussion, immediately before the first day of residency).

The financial benefits
In this program you receive two types of payments during the residency year: