Engineering vs. Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DesignEngineer

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new comer to this board. I read the thread about the salary many non-trads gave up for their career medicine and found so many engineers are making the switch to the medicine. I am myself are a engineer and am really interest what movitiates people to switch out of engineering. So, I want to start this thread.

So, here is my story.

I am a UCSD grad in electrical engineering. Working as IC design engineer in the silicon valley for a leading flash memory company while attending stanford for my M.S. in EE. I consider work to be fun, i mean, it is quite amazing to sqeeze 10 billion transistors into a tiny piece of silicon.

I choose engineering back in undergrad was for the money. I came from a poor family and I want to help my family ASAP after graduation. Indeed, it pays off very well. But, now I am feeling miserable at work. Money is no longer a issue and I want to pursue something I trully enjoy.

I want to make the switch because I am tired and bored of my life inside the cubicles. I like interactions with human being instead of with my unix terminal. IThe reason for chosing medicine is because medicine is the only field which I can make a tremedous improvement for people's life. Also, there is also the dream since child hood.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,