Phd before MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fute

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
Nice to sign up.
I have been working to overcome a first bachelor's degree GPA for five years now in order to get into an MD program in the US, and I prefer either the University of Alabama SOM or the University of South Alabama medical school. Here's my saga.
I have a degree in Chemistry with the American Chemical Society's certification from the University of North Alabama. In other words an acreditied BS, it has 175 hours with only a 2.26 GPA. I changed my major late and was a senior for three years. After 12 years in the environmental lab testing business, I needed to move on. To overcome my past I have done the following:
I went back to UNA and received a 2nd bachelor's degree majoring in biology. I took very heavy loads in science and completed 95 hours in 2.5 years with a 3.526 GPA! Next I went to a junior college and received an EMT-Basic certification, passed the nation registry exam and have a current AL license (i.e. I could work as an EMT-Basic if I wanted to). Next I got into a program at Boston University, an MA in Medical Sciences. This is simply a graduate level post baccalaureate degree. I got sick with the flu, twice; and missed so much class that I had to take a medical leave of absence. That means I had to stay gone for a year which ends in Nov. I have been studying for the MCAT, and took it recently. I was not able to be 100% ready for it and feel I made all 8's in each section. I feel I need to make at least 10s in each section along with a good writing score to be competitive for any MD program.