OTD vS PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

freds3ws

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I have been thinking about going back for a doctorate with the ultimate goal of doing research and/or teaching. In most fields, PhD is the gold standard so I am wondering about the OTD. Is this a good degree? Does is have the same respect as a PhD?
Thanks for any input!

ALison

Members don't see this ad.

Hi
I dont know if this helps Im just a OT student,but I can say that from my readings and the way the field is heading towards, it seems that OTD will be minimum requirement to practice as an Occupational Therapist. That being said getting a OTD nowadays will have its benefits, but over the long run it will not be as competitive. In addition, you are probably familiar with this but OTD is clinical it focuses on OT practice gearing students towards the practice of OT. PHD is research and theory oriented students are trained to do research and teach at university and requires more time. In terms of respect having an OTD vs. PhD about the same. So I think it depends on your preference, you mentioned your goal is to do research and teach so that would be more PHD. My personal opinion having a PHD out weighs the benefits of an OTD. I hope my humble feedback helps.

Khalid

Last edited:
I'd agree.. youre going to have more atonomy going psych, while making more bucks. The jobs you get as a PhD will be easier every day, with a higher salary, in a college where i have noticed health benefits for a family are hundreds less a month, your daily schedule is much more flexible when your kid gets sick, you can change your hours and probably wouldnt have to even anyone as long as it was met by the end of the week.