Current PhD Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cerebritus

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm currently a year PhD student in the biosciences. The repetitive dullness of experimental work and the knowledge that my work is of little practical use for humanity is turning me cynical. A pragmatist and idealist at heart, I feel like I am wasting my time. I am questioning what made me decide to give up my dream to study medicine and instead opt for grad school.

One issue was that by my junior year I felt hopelessly behind in developing a strong profile for admission. I didn't around to taking ochem/physics sequences until my junior year. In addition, my only clinical experience had been a single day of shadowing. Instead of considering applying a year late, I gave up. The other issue is that I have a traditional "scientific" personality, by which I mean my demeanor tends to be very serious and unless I am familiar with a person I am not good at making small talk. However, in my previous volunteering and teaching experiences I have always gotten a kick when I am able to help someone. I would like to be able to use my abilities to help people face to face on a daily basis. The MCAT and clinical experiences are deficiencies I can easily take care of, and my grades are definitely sufficient for most programs. But of course my personality is not going to change -- is that going to be a stumbling block in terms of LORs / interviews? Any tips on how to compensate? What sort of specialities does a shy/quiet person tend to fit into best?