Malpractice Insurance for Foreign Elective Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prion

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi.

I just had an elective at the National Neuroscience Institute in Singapore.

I'm planning to do a 4-week elective in UCSD. However, UCSD requires a medical malpractice insurance for application. Does anyone know of an American Insurance company who can provide medical malpractice insurance for foreign elective students?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Anyone have any ideas? So many programs require this insurance before even accepting applications...

Hi,I'm an italian student in your same situation,I'm trying to apply in the Corneill University in NY, did you find the way to do the malpractice insurance? thank you

Members don't see this ad :)
Here are two contacts I was provided with through Downstate Uni, NY:

Stewart Smith Mid-America
30 South Walker Drive
Suite 2706
Chicago, IL 60606
Telephone Number - (312) 236-7333

Steve Capone
Vice-President & Senior Underwriter
Academic Health Professionals Insurance Association
A Reciprocal Insurer
Telephone: (646) 808-0591
[email protected]

I'm sure you may find other companies if you do more extensive search. Good luck :)

well i guess that malpractise insurance is way too high. i doubt if a medschool that does not have it will probably not buy it as it is generally integrated in the medschool fee for schools in US. Even some carrebian schools have this malpractise insurance. i am also trying for this insurance but i doubt if my college will buy it. if you people get to know how to come around this tedious task please do inform me.
thanx

I used this one and it cost $1250 for a policy that lasted one year. Unfortunately, the minimal amount of time you can get a policy for is 1 year, even if you only need it for 4 weeks. They were really nice though, helpful, and quick turn around.