Sparrow Hospital/Michigan State University (MSU)-Lansing Residency Reviews

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ER-ER-Oh

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a second year resident at MSU/SPARROW. I really like it here, and I'm from NYC. The program is not flashy by any means, I really never heard of it before I started looking to get out of the city for residency and I've been nicely surprised by the experience.

We cover two different hospitals, Sparrow and Ingham Regional Medical Center, both in Lansing. Sparrow, the level 1 trauma center, now has a census around 100,000. We have mostly blunt trauma, except during hunting season when the guns come out, along with the Dick Cheney's of Michigan. The traumas are run by the EM residents, with a concurrent FAST exam and secondary survey by the Trauma team (surgery), and the overall supervision of the Trauma Surgeon. There is absolutely no conflict with surgery here. We do the intubations and share the chest tubes, etc. I see anywhere from 18-24 patients on an average 12 hour shift, and more on the busy ones. Yes, we have the drug seekers and the drunks and the diabetics who seem to have a second home in the ED, but I've had some good variance in cases, and I feel challenged by what I've been seeing.

Ingham is more of the "old folks home". There are far more cardiac cases, and the population is an older and more frail one. This is just the way the two hospitals have diverged over the years I guess. There seem to be more intubations and central lines in the ED here.