Organic Chemistry is over my head

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JessPreDental

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am an aspiring dentist. Originally I am from Bolivia and I came to the States about ten years ago. My English is perfect but taking all these advanced sciences have proven to be extremely challenging. And now Organic Chemistry is killing me, I have a D in it right now and I feel extremely defeated. I am doubting my scholastic capacity and i am utterly lost.
Now that I've given you a bit of the background, here is my question:
Should I keep the major or am I way out of my league intellectually? I know Organic Chemistry will not be the hardest course along to road for a Pre-Dental Student.
Any advice?:eek:

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think Organic Chemistry is above you intellectually, it may just be too much for you to handle at the moment. The key element in O chem is time. You have to spend lots and lots of time studying it. Then it will slowly make sense to you. I got A's in Organic Chemistry but I had to drop out of Calculus in the first semester. I felt how you do, but with Calculus, it was way over my head, I was almost having a nervous breakdown everyday because of that class. I took calculus over the summer when I had more time and got a B. You can do it! Ask for help from others you know in the class, read the book, think about it when you're going from class to class. Now that I'm done with O chem I realize how much I like it but while in the class I hated the workload and was too busy trying to get a good grade to know if I even enjoyed the material. I don't think anything is above the average person "intellectually", some people just need more time or prep.

what other courses are you taking this semester and what other science courses have you taken in the past?

Members don't see this ad :)
Biggest source of help