First and last time taking this menace!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ReaverOpS

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm so glad I finished the DAT! As always, I thank SDN wholeheartedly for all your help and support through my period of languish.

Bit of background: I'm a current undergrad entering junior year. My current GPA isn't super high ~3.5 overall, but I'm hoping to bring it up some more before I apply next cycle. I'm definitely not super smart; but I always believe that it's 90% effort and 10% talent. I took biochem prior to taking this exam, so it might have helped.

On the real exam, I breezed through the Natural Sciences. Finished with 30 min left. Spent 20 min casually checking over my answers, grew bored, and ended the section with 10 min left. However, on the PAT, it was much tougher, so I spent the whole time. Same with RC. However, for the first passage (which was about gastrointestinal disease), I finished it in 15 min. The next 2 passages were considerably more difficult, however. Finally for QR, I finished it quickly with 15 left, and then spent the remainder of the time checking my answers.

Here are my scores:

PAT - 23 (94.7)
QR - 24 (98.4)
RC - 22 (85.9)
Bio - 22 (95.8)
GC - 28 (99.0)
OC - 29 (99.3)
TS - 25 (99.3)
AA - 25 (99.8)

Breakdown:

Studying period: 3.25 months (13 weeks) along with part-time work and volunteering/shadowing at a dental clinic. Spent 350-400 hours. On average, spent about 4-5 hours studying each day.

Materials Used + Other Resources/Tactics:
1. Kaplan Blue Book + Study Guide + 3 Workshops Online + Diagnostic Test + Online Test
2. Cliffnotes AP Biology + CD
3. DAT Destroyer
4. Math Destroyer
5. datQvault
6. Crack DAT PAT
7. DAT Achiever
8. KBB and Cliffnotes Flashcards
9. Personal Bio Flashcards
10. Handwritten Notes

Thoughts on such materials: