2.58 uGPA - where to go from here

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

casualnihilism

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I graduated from UIC in December with a **** GPA, but i know i can handle the weight (based on my performance in my final semester...i know, idiotic to wait that long), and am adamant about going to med school, but I'm not sure how to go about it.

I've been told I need to do a postbac first, and then an SMP, and then MAYBE I have a shot, but its still a big risk (I know DO is the safer alternative, but I'm just curious about what needs to be done for an MD program to take me).

If I were to try a postbac for GPA repair, would an informal, online route cut it? i already have plenty loans and don't have the means to quit my daytime job or relocate. would the postbac retaken course grades average with my old grades? theoretically, how long would it take to bring a 2.58 up to a 3.0, so that I can apply for an SMP?

a few more stats:
research: 10 months in a biochem lab (30-50/week, but no publication and no prospect of one in sight, which is making me consider leaving this lab? actually would immensely appreciate any advice on this as well)
work: ~5 years (25-40 hrs/week)
not much in EC: started a music organization for one year, one year as a volunteer judge in chicago debate league, 2 years in the ISO, and currently volunteering for the bernie campaign

I've recently started shadowing and am looking for hospital volunteer opportunities.

Is this even worth pursuing at all? am i in over my head here? i started studying for the GRE to at least apply for a traditional masters program that will accept me conditionally*, but SMP's are better for med school apps and I need an MCAT score for that, so I'm not even sure which test to prep for here.