2016 Cycle Anesthesia Chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anesthesia2017

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a long time reader of these forums but never felt compelled to post until now. To preface, I have researched similar threads on this forum, but none that I was able to dig up were either current or matched my situation similarly enough that I didn't feel the need to post.

I am a 4th year DO student applying anesthesia this cycle. I would like to go to a program in the north east in a big city, and preferably at a university program.

General academic background:
Well known DO school on east coast, top quartile of my class
Mainly high pass and honors on rotations
USMLE Step 1: Low 230's, USMLE Step 2: high 240's
Publications in areas other than anesthesia, doing anesthesia specific research now, hoping to get a paper out this Fall.

I wanted to ask whether or not you guys thought a top tier program would be out of reach for my app. Just trying to be realistic with my goals.

Lastly, I have read/been told different answers regarding how many programs one should apply to, what would be a safe number with my stats?

Thanks in advance to all who read this.

Members don't see this ad.

Several top tier programs have DOs among their ranks, although they are definitely outranked by MDs. Anecdotally at my program (which takes some DOs), you appear on the surface to hit most of what we are looking for: reasonable school (lower DO programs put you at a high disadvantage I've seen), good scores and grades (you need higher than MD-equivalent to be quite honest) and interest in the field. So at first glance you meet basic criteria.