2017 & Beyond

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yungnaira

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a high achieving PharmD student with aspirations to work in a field of pharmacy that provides satisfaction. I've been fairly active on this forum, looking at threads that analyze the future of pharmacy and oversaturation.
Speaking from a student perspective, how difficult will it be for me to land a decent job when I graduate in 2017. I'm really trying here to take full advantage of the opportunities afforded to me. Leadership, work exp.. etc.

I plan on graduating w/a lil over $200k in debt. I absolutely refuse to work a slave retail job, as I am just not fast enough or have patience for that line of work (self-admission). Ideally, a job in industry suites my strengths. (advertising, marketing) I've considered PRN work in retail for income supplementation.

Where does this end for me. I strongly believe that pharmacy schools these days set up students for DISASTER. No life skills, money management skills, just a money making pipeline (Keystone XL anyone?)

All opinions are appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Just work hard to differentiate yourself and you'll be fine.

How difficult it will be, depends on where you want to practice. If you want to practice in a large coastal city, you will have a difficult time finding a job. If you want to practice in Podunk, Nebraska, you will have a much easier time of finding a job. To get into industry, your best bet is to get an industry residency (which will be easier said than done.)

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm on the East Coast and believe me, I see the saturation. Industry fellowships are extremely hard to come by. I haven't adequately networked in that realm.

My question is are pharmacist even needed in certain departments in the industry. My niche is advertising and marketing, solely based on work experience prior to pharmacy school.