MD 23 y.o. Career-Changer - early suggestions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Silky Cerberus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all (sorry in advance for this brick of a post!),

First post on this network, which has already provided me with excellent perspective well before I officially signed up yesterday! Short background: I am a 23 year-old working as a medical scribe for the University of Michigan Health System and waiting on my upcoming promotion to chief scribe. I graduated last year from Notre Dame with a degree in their Great Books program and a Business Economics minor. I love literature, philosophy, theology etc, but throughout my undergrad career, I was always considering medicine, reflected in some interspersed pre-med classes (elaborated below). After a good deal of discernment, one year after undergrad, I am recommitted to going the pre-med route, but this is an early stage in the road for me, as I still have 4 pre-reqs to finish, the MCAT to take, and experience to rack up. In addition, as seen below, my sGPA is less than impressive, so I may want to consider a post bac or retaking classes locally as needed. I do have legitimate circumstances that I believe were partially responsible for the lower-than-ideal GPA (family member passed away, was placed on medication for GAD for a semester). I am still questioning whether MD or DO is a better route, but early on, I am leaning towards MD.

In summary: any feedback on my current status and stated goals (bottom of post) are welcome and encouraged. I am very grateful and appreciative to those of you willing to take the time!

GPA: 3.36c, ~2.90s (including Gen Chem I, Orgo I, Bio I and II, Physiology, Microbiology, Calculus and Stats. Psych doesn't count as science GPA, right?) The science GPA is primarily sunk by Cs in Calc and Orgo.