26 yo Chem E, Grades all over the place, need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ENGR2DO

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here is my story: I'm 26 yo, I have a bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering and am in an career that I'm less than satisfied with. I've always dreamed of being a doctor. I really didn't concentrate in college during the first couple of years, well the first 3 years (of 5). I got a D in O chem II and wrote off ever going to Med school. Unsatisfied with work and frankly missing school I have started looking at DO programs, I had not realized I could retake classes and replaced grades for an application. My graduating GPA was a 2.85 both cumulative and science calculated AACOMAS style, but with an upward trend from straight C first year and C and D sprinkled through out.

My GPA spread sheet tells me if I take bio I & II and retake Calc II and O Chem II with As. I will have a 3.0 cGPA and a 3.2 sGPA.

Additionally retaking Gen Chem I and O Chem I will get it to 3.08cGPA and 3.39 sGPA. All of which I believe is well within my abilities.

My questions are:

What further retakes if any, will help more than new grad level course?

Is my thinking that a good sGPA and MCAT will negate a low cGPA correct?

I am enrolling in Bio next semester at the community college (only thing available) and shadowing at the locale hospital. I figure I’ll study for the MCAT and take a few practice tests and adjust from there. Good MCAT prospects may lead me to quit and go back to school full time on savings.

If any one wishes I have all my grades typed up, but it is log and messy. Just ask and I will post.

Members don't see this ad.