28 MCAT with a 3.95 science gpa and 3.8 overall, what should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tennisplayer20

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my fourth year as an inorganic materials engineering student residing in South Carolina, and planning to graduate in May 2016. I just got my MCAT score today, and I was less than impressed with a 28 (8 VR, 10 PS, 10 BS). I've had barely the basic requirements for medical school in biology, as I took biology 1 and 2 this past summer at a community college to try and get a decent MCAT score before it changes this coming January. I don't have the strongest extra curriculars, other than four intramural sports a week every semester. I'm planning to shadow and gain clinical experience all summer in 2015. I want to get into an allopathic school, and I really just want to get in anywhere that I can. Also, I'm curious how an engineering degree will be looked at by an admissions committee. I'm not sure how much time that I'll have to study for the MCAT if I retake it in January, as I have a busy semester with all engineering classes and I barely have time to even finish my work for the classes. With all of that being said, do you guys recommend that I retake the MCAT, or apply with what I have and pray?

Members don't see this ad.