2nd Bachelors to raise GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hunypot

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I was wondering what peoples opinions are on working on a 2nd bachelors degree to raise your GPA for vet school. I graduated in 05 with somewhat low GPA, I've applied to vet school and it seems that I am not getting an interview this year. So, I am wondering if I went back and started work on another degree, and was able to raise my GPA, would the ad com see that as having more weight than my first degree or not? I am having a hard time thinking of ways to raise my GPA...any ideas would be appreciated. By the way, UC Davis (where I would be going) does not offer post-bac programs. Also, my pre-reqs will still be low from the first degree? Any ideas on how to improve would be appreciated! I'm sure there are lots of people in the same boat!

Members don't see this ad.

I would suggest that you call some of the vet schools you have applied to and/or are interested in and discussing how to strengthen your application. They may suggest a masters over a 2nd bachelors...

My personal opinion is that if you have a decent (maybe >3.1-3.3) you should do a one year "special" masters, as opposed to a post-bacc or 2nd bacc. If your GPA is much lower than a 3.1ish, I'd def do more undergraduate work...rather than a masters, or in addition to a masters.

Members don't see this ad :)