3.0 uGPA, 37 MCAT, plus law school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

marcdagr8

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
OK, so I am applying for this cycle and I have about a 3.0 GPA. Science GPA is about the same and my MCAT is 37, evenly distributed. I am currently in law school and have been doing very well. My GPA is just short of a 3.9 and I am ranked 3/190. I am an Arizona resident.

I am interested in knowing if there are any schools in particular that weight heavily toward MCAT scores or are more willing to forgive a poor GPA if there has been some time in between undergrad and med school application.

I am 31 and finished undergrad about 5 years ago. My bad grades are mostly from before I was 25. I have no significant extracurriculars to speak of, although I did work in organ/tissue donation field for about 5 years, and yes, I got my hands dirty in the job.

Thanks for any direction!

Members don't see this ad.

OK, so I am applying for this cycle and I have about a 3.0 GPA. Science GPA is about the same and my MCAT is 37, evenly distributed. I am currently in law school and have been doing very well. My GPA is just short of a 3.9 and I am ranked 3/190. I am an Arizona resident.

I am interested in knowing if there are any schools in particular that weight heavily toward MCAT scores or are more willing to forgive a poor GPA if there has been some time in between undergrad and med school application.

I am 31 and finished undergrad about 5 years ago. My bad grades are mostly from before I was 25. I have no significant extracurriculars to speak of, although I did work in organ/tissue donation field for about 5 years, and yes, I got my hands dirty in the job.

Thanks for any direction!

So, bolded are the problems, and I would almost say that the low GPA is the least of your 3 problems.