3.4 GPA, 29 MCAT, engineer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hokie2007

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have an engineering undergrad degree with a 3.4 GPA, a biotechnology masters from Penn with a 3.4 GPA (while working a full time job ~55hr/week). MCAT 29 (11BS 9VR 9PS). Four years of pharmaceutical industry experience
I'm an NJ resident and really hoping for an MD acceptance, particularly UMDNJ or RWJ.
What are my chances?
Retake the MCAT? My average practice test scores were right around a 29 (but recently my verbal score have surged from 7 to 9, so there's hopes of a 31).

Members don't see this ad.

I have an engineering undergrad degree with a 3.4 GPA, a biotechnology masters from Penn with a 3.4 GPA (while working a full time job ~55hr/week). MCAT 29 (11BS 9VR 9PS). Four years of pharmaceutical industry experience
I'm an NJ resident and really hoping for an MD acceptance, particularly UMDNJ or RWJ.
What are my chances?
Retake the MCAT? My average practice test scores were right around a 29 (but recently my verbal score have surged from 7 to 9, so there's hopes of a 31).
Per AAMC "All Applicant" stats, those with a 3.39 undergrad cGPA, an MCAT of 29 gives you a 29% chance of an MD acceptance. A 32 raises that to 38%. And a 35, to 51%.

Per AAMC "All Applicant" stats, those with a 3.39 undergrad cGPA, an MCAT of 29 gives you a 29% chance of an MD acceptance. A 32 raises that to 38%. And a 35, to 51%.

Listen catalystik...I understand that you are here to help people, but I really don't think they are looking for stats based on past percentages which are solely based on mcat and gpa. If the op wanted to know that, he could just find the percentage chart. He wants some actual feedback based on the other factors, such as his major, ec's, and undergraduate university. You are the expert, so you should give some actual feedback, not something that a robot would say

Members don't see this ad :)