3.5 sGPA, 3.6 cGPA, 507 MCAT. Washington Resident

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

EDSMelatonin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN-ers,

I'm just wondering what my chances are for MD schools, especially the University of Washington (I'm a WA state resident).

As the title says, I have a 3.5 sGPA, 3.6 cGPA, and a 507 MCAT. I was wondering if I should actually retake that MCAT. My score was destroyed because of my CARS (124). I will be applying the upcoming summer.

I actually don't have much extracurriculars to be honest, which kind of worries me. I'm not part of any clubs, besides being in a social fraternity. This will obviously hurt me right? It's really tough for me to balance classes with work and my volunteering commitments.

I volunteer as an outpatient hospice companion and at a 24 hour care facility. I have been doing these both for over a year now, and will be for 2 years by the time of applying. I volunteer at each place once a week for 4 hours. I also work 12-15 hours a week at a student office on campus dealing with disability accommodations, where I communicate a lot with students, counselors, and professors. I've been working here for over a year now as well, and will be 2 by the time I apply.

Summary of activities at time of application:
2 years hospice volunteer
2 years in-patient care facility volunteer
2 years student office worker

Would also appreciate a list of any schools I'd have a chance of getting into! I will definitely be applying to Washington States' Med School when the time comes/when they officially open. I think I might have a good chance at that since I'll be part of the first class?

Thanks so much guys and gals!

Members don't see this ad.

There is a 2nd state school that is planning to open in Spokane for 2017 so definitely apply there. Other schools where you should consider applying include:
Quinnipiac