MD 3.6 cGPA, 33 MCAT, Worried about interviews

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hallowumpkin31

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have lurked on here for a while but this is my first time posting. I'm really worried because I only have 1 interview and it's from my alma mater. I have 3 rejections already. I applied to over 30 MD schools (many are top schools I know I don't have a good shot at, but I have about 20 that are targets or better). My top choice is University of Colorado, and I'm in-state there. I have been complete at all schools since early to mid-August.

-3.6 cGPA, 3.55 sGPA (from a Top-10 college)
-33 MCAT
-Clinical experience: 3 years volunteering as an EMT at about 25 hours/week (of course, this includes a lot of down time between calls) and extensive leadership experience with my EMS organization
-Research: 2 years in my lab at about 20-25 hours/week (including 2 summers working full time), continuing to do a senior thesis which will be complete in the spring
-Shadowing: 90 hours between 4 providers in different specialties
-Some other activities and hobbies that I am passionate about

I have an explainable dip in my GPA with an upward trend afterwards, but I honestly am starting to think that schools don't actually look for trends. I am getting very cynical and I feel like I put in all of this time into research and volunteering for nothing. Should I be worried about not gaining acceptance this cycle? Do I have a shot at Colorado?

@Goro @LizzyM @gyngyn
What are my chances of getting in this cycle?

Should I add more schools? Is there anything else I can do?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
a) there've been a million threads like this recently. Too early to panic about not getting enough II's.
b) What was your list
c) when were you completed. IF you weren't even completed until that long ago, that's makes panicking right now even sillier.