3.6 cGPA, MPH degree, terrible MCAT -- please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cu2010

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am finishing up in graduate school, getting my Master of Public Health degree. I have only taken the MCAT once in August and got a 23 (yes I know it is bad, I panicked).

My undergrad degree is in Animal Science and I have a ton of veterinary experience that an advisor said could be used as clinical experience.

I did a veterinary internship for ten weeks abroad and I studied abroad for my MPH degree.

I have been assisting a post doc in a lab all summer and now basically run all her experiments and work as a lab tech.

I will work at the CDC in the Spring in Reproductive Health.

Is it possible to be accepted into a state MD school even with my horrible MCAT score?! Or should I not bother submitting my application? I feel bad because all my recommendations have come in. DO is not an option for me.

Members don't see this ad.

So I am finishing up in graduate school, getting my Master of Public Health degree. I have only taken the MCAT once in August and got a 23 (yes I know it is bad, I panicked).

My undergrad degree is in Animal Science and I have a ton of veterinary experience that an advisor said could be used as clinical experience.

I did a veterinary internship for ten weeks abroad and I studied abroad for my MPH degree.

I have been assisting a post doc in a lab all summer and now basically run all her experiments and work as a lab tech.

I will work at the CDC in the Spring in Reproductive Health.

Is it possible to be accepted into a state MD school even with my horrible MCAT score?! Or should I not bother submitting my application? I feel bad because all my recommendations have come in. DO is not an option for me.