MD & DO 3.65 cGPA, 3.54 sGPA, 35 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nm825

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Connecticut resident
3.66 cGPA 3.54 sGPA (3.43 for DO schools)
13/11/11= 35 MCAT

-100 hours of clinical research in an ER as part of a class
-100 hours of shadowing physicians (ER DO, Orthopedic Surgeon DO, Podiatrist)
~200 hours of volunteer EMT work since January
-I work as a substitute teacher currently
-I've worked for a local police department enforcing town ordinances the past four summers and got a solid LOR from it
-Various leadership positions throughout college (fraternity and junior year dorm)

-Solid LOR from work, solid LOR from Economics professor, ok LOR from chemistry. I don't know how my overall committee letter went. It was a very difficult interview for me, but I'm hoping my solid LORs from people who know me will outweigh some silly committee evaluation. DO Letter as well

I've made threads before on here, but I just got my verified app back, and my sGPA was better than expected, so I'd like to see if this changes things at all

GWU
Albany Medical College
Albert Einstein
Creighton
Drexel
Eastern Virginia
Georgetown
Hofstra
USC
Loyola
Medical College of Wisconsin
NYMC
Penn State
Quinnipiac
Rosalind Franklin
Rush
Temple
Commonwealth MC
Miami
Vermont
Uconn
Virginia Tech
VCU
Wake Forest

Just verified today, but I hope to have all secondaries submitted by August 7

CCOM
Touro-NY
PCOM
UNECOM
KCUMB
Nova

What do you think my chances are of getting in somewhere? I've already had a year off since college, and I cannot wait another year. If I don't get in anywhere by December, I'm going to send in application to podiatry schools as I've shadowed a DPM before and found it interesting.

Members don't see this ad.