MD 3.7 cGPA/3.6 sGPA/517 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NatGeo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am planning on submitting an Allopathic application next summer.

A bit about me: I graduated in 2014 with a degree in Biology, concentration in Education Science, cum laude. My graduating cGPA was 3.65/3.43 sGPA. I enrolled at Oregon State University and took 25 credits of post-bacc science courses, and now sit at a 3.70 c/3.60 s. Also, during my junior year of college (2013), I took the MCAT and scored a 23. I then studied for over a year (Aug 14-May 15) and took the new MCAT and score a 517 (95th Percentile -- equivalent to a 35).

Specifics about who I am: I am a Virginia resident, attended University here and grew up in the state. After graduation, I worked for a year as a Chemistry & Physics teacher at the middle school level. I then completed a cartography internship with the National Geographic in Washington D.C. and was hired on as a staff cartographer this past summer. I now live in London and make maps for Nat Geo. However, to be stateside during my application cycle, I will have to forgo this position. Through the recruiting process at my University, I was hired on as a Business Technology Analyst at Deloitte starting August, 2016. This is what I will be doing for a year before hopefully matriculating to Medical School.

My volunteering experiences: I've volunteered at my local hospital for 4 years, accumulating a bunch of hours. I also have shadowed two physicians. Outside of medicine, I've been the sponsor of two clubs at my middle school, and coached a team. In London, I work at a women's shelter on the weekends.

Where I would really like to go: UVA

Chances?

Members don't see this ad.