3.7 gpa 33 mcat - need help with school list

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aflac0421

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My list is pretty fat and I need some help cutting/adding or replacing schools on my list.

I have a 3.7 cGPA and 3.6 sGPA with a 33 mcat (10 ps, 11 vr, 12 bs). ~ Cali resident

I have 4 years of volunteering experience in the hospital, a summer internship in an organic chem lab and a year of volunteering in a hospice and a year of tutoring for at-risk kids. Plus I've shadowed doctors randomly here and there.

I am a reapplicant (last year I applied late with a 29) so I'm hoping this year turns out better for me. I am looking into D.O schools but I want this thread to be about M.D. schools only.

UCLA
UC Irvine
UC Davis
USC
Jefferson
Drexel
Temple
NYMC
Buffalo
EVMS
Scranton
VCU – Richmond
Creighton
Tulane
Loyola
Rush
Rosalind Franklin
University of Illinois at Chicago
George Washington University
University of Vermont
Michigan State University
Medical College of Wisconsin
Penn State
Albany
Toledo
Saint Louis University
SUNY Brooklyn

UCLA and USC are a big reach for me but I want to give it a shot since I really want to stay in LA. Nevertheless, this list is pretty hefty so I was wondering if any of the schools I've listed aren't reasonable for me to apply to (or should be replaced by something else?)

I feel like I'm missing a few schools that may be easier to get into (although all schools are pretty damn competitive) or accept a high % of OOS. Should I consider adding schools like Oakland, University of Miami, Wayne?

Furthermore, I would really like to be in a city so I was wondering if there were perhaps any schools within my range that might be worth applying to?

Members don't see this ad.

bump?