3.76 cGPA, 3.77 sGPA, 35 MCAT. Please help me with my school list

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

baeboorin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a California resident. I immigrated to the US 6 years ago from Vietnam. I went to community college for 2 years and a UC for 2 years.

Comm. College GPA (bio/chem major): 3.90 cGPA, 3.91 sGPA
University GPA (biochem major): 3.66 cGPA, 3.67 sGPA (first year after transfer around 3.4 GPA, second year 4.0)
Total GPA: 3.76 cGPA, 3.77 sGPA
MCAT (1/26/2013): 35 (12 P, 11 V, 12 B)

I'm very lacking in my ECs:

First year in Comm. College I worked 14 hours/week as a waitress (I did not know if I wanted to become a doctor and wasted a lot of time). I don't think I should put this in my application. Please advise.
Second year:
TA for biology lab for 1 semester
Student Assistant (paid) for high school outreach department
First year in UC: volunteer in hospital for 100 hours during summer (they only made me do data entry so I hated this experience and didn't want to come back)

After graduation:
Shadowed an internal MD (private practice) for 5 months, 3-4 hours / week
Shadowed an internal DO (private practice) for 6 months, 16 hours / week
Volunteer in non-profit clinic: 4 months, 12 hours / week
Volunteer to tutor and teach children about culture and Vietnamese language: 4 months, 3 hours / week

During my shadowing, I was paid for a month or two when I substituted for Medical Assistant staffs who took vacation days off.

I was concentrating on improving my GPA at UC, and was not certain about what I would do in the future, thus the lack of ECs. During that time, my grandpa was very sick (He died right after I graduated), so I spent a lot of time at the hospital and at home taking care of him. I know this sounded cliche, but that was how I actually got to know about medicine. I volunteered and shadowed later to make sure that I like this career.