3.81 cGPA, 3.8 sGPA, 31 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mercedes-benzene

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks

Would love any advice/info on my chances here.

As a bit of background, I'm a non-trad applicant with an undergrad degree in psychology as well as a Master's in clinical psychology. I've got two years of work experience in psychology, a large majority of it in intelligence testing and neuropsych evaluations. For a year of that I worked in an outpatient/inpatient neurology department at a hospital doing batteries for concussions, stroke, pre-op / post-op evaluation, Parkinson's, etc. I also volunteer at a free medical clinic doing intake interviews (hoping to do scribe work there after Christmas). Past volunteer experience is pretty extensive, with 4 years of YoungLife in college and a summer at a homeless shelter. I also currently work doing more concussion evals while also working as a communications director for a nonprofit.

My sGPA is largely from a post-bacc program that I completed (3.84 GPA there ... 2 B's in physics) combined with 2 B's from intro bio and chemistry back during my freshman year of college almost 8 years ago. Do those science classes even count anymore since they are so long ago? My post-bacc courses were the requirements for med schools, so not too many upper level courses. Although I did finish physiology and biochemistry.

During my master's program I had about 1.5 years of research experience, the first being in a lab examining cognitive effects of HIV and then the rest in a lab for neuropsych looking at how children function with rare genetic disorders. I have some shadowing experience (primary care, ER, ortho; probably 40 hours). Do I need more of that?