MD 3.85 cGPA/ 3.88 sGPA, Taking 2015 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RIhusky

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am entering my junior year at a well-ranked public university in New England. I am an OOS student at this school, and am a Rhode Island native. I am a white male, both of my parents are college-educated engineers, and there are no medical doctors in my family tree.

cGPA: 3.85, sGPA: 3.88, taking the 2015 MCAT next spring.

My GPA shows a very solid upward trend; lowest semester GPA was my first semester, I had all A's and one A- sophomore year. I take between 17 and 20 credits each semester (except the first).

Extracurriculars
-President & founder of a volunteer high-school outreach student organization. Working with two schools currently.
-Honors program
-I do a lot of free tutoring, especially in chemistry. I'm not employed by the school, but I usually find myself tutoring one or more people several times a week. I'm not sure if this is something I could list...

Leadership
-President & Founder of a volunteer high-school outreach organization, we have about 20 members and are quickly growing. We work with two public high school in less fortunate areas, and expect to receive interest from more schools soon.
-AFS gap year - Lived in Italy for 10 months after graduating high school early, attended an Italian public school. Went to many schools across Italy to serve as an AFS ambassador as a part of the exchange program. Became fluent in Italian.

Employment
-Worked as a summer camp counselor throughout high school
-During the summer between freshman and sophomore year of college, I worked for a manufacturing firm doing general labor, both in the office and in the warehouse
-Currently interning (paid) in materials science at a very well-known pharmaceutical firm.

Volunteering
-Aforementioned volunteer high school outreach organization