MD 3.94 cGPA, 3.93 sGPA, 37 MCAT. Need help with school list.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tappinfool66

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I’m looking for some advice on the schools I’m thinking of applying to this upcoming cycle.

About me:
I’m a PA resident living in Philadelphia currently. I did my undergrad here in Philly too, where I got my degree in Spanish last May. As for my stats, I have a 3.94 cGPA, a 3.93 sGPA and a 37 MCAT (10VR, 13BS, 14PS). I’m in my first gap year working as an ED scribe in a children’s hospital right now and I’ve been doing that for the past six months or so. I plan on staying there for at least another six months or so, possibly for the next year and a half until I start med school.

The following is what I’ll be listing on my experiences section:
-Phi Beta Kappa Induction
-Sigma Delta Pi (National Spanish Honors Society) Induction
-Tutoring (paid - work study): ~500 hours
GED students: ~200 hours
Student-athletes: ~150 hours
First generation college students: ~150 hours​
-Diamond Peer Teaching (undergrad online homework “TA” for Organic Chemistry I): ~ 150 hours
-ED Scribing: ~10 months (by the time I apply)
-Shadowing: hopefully ~100 hours (I currently have about 30 in general surgery and I’m hoping to get more over the course of this Spring in ortho, ENT, oncology and/or primary care, all likely pediatric since I work in a children’s hospital)
-Study Abroad semester in Spain: 6 months
-Service Immersion in Eastern Kentucky (Habitat for Humanity and similar organizations): 4 weeks, one week per summer for past four years
-Volunteer/tutor/mentor for an organization that helps Spanish-speaking children with afterschool tutoring: ~75 hours