3.95 science GPA, 3.8 overall, and a 28 MCAT, what should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tennisplayer20

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my fourth year as an inorganic materials engineering student residing in South Carolina, and planning to graduate in May 2016. I just got my MCAT score today, and I was less than impressed with a 28 (8 VR, 10 PS, 10 BS). I've had barely the basic requirements for medical school in biology, as I took biology 1 and 2 this past summer at a community college to try and get a decent MCAT score before it changes this coming January. I don't have the strongest extra curriculars, other than four intramural sports a week every semester. I'm planning to shadow and gain clinical experience all summer in 2015. I want to get into an allopathic school, and I really just want to get in anywhere that I can. Also, I'm curious how an engineering degree will be looked at by an admissions committee. I'm not sure how much time that I'll have to study for the MCAT if I retake it in January, as I have a busy semester with all engineering classes and I barely have time to even finish my work for the classes. With all of that being said, do you guys recommend that I retake the MCAT, or apply with what I have and pray?

Members don't see this ad.

If you're set on an allopathic school, you may be looking at a retake, even as a SC resident. With great ECs and a high GPA, you'd be right on the border with a 28.

If, however, the only biology you have is intro bio at a CC, you may have bigger problems. Take some upper level bio courses.

Also, be prepared to be asked why you majored in what amounts to construction engineering if you wanted to go to medical school.