3.96 GPA, 31 MCAT, Reapplicant advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bdDOC71

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all!

I also posted this in the WAMC forums. Really looking for some feedback so I can make sure my second time applying is my last time applying!

I'm a MN resident who initially applied for the entering class of 2014 with these same stats. I applied to 7 schools (completed secondaries mid-October) and received 2 interviews. I don't believe my interviewing skills were the reason for the rejections as I felt fairly comfortable in both but I could be wrong.

My ECs were similar last cycle but with fewer hours (especially medically related volunteering).

• Hospice house volunteer (100+ hours)
  • Run a weekly program at a local Boys & Girls Club (150+ hours)
  • NCAA DII athlete (4 years) (Capitol One Academic All-American, DII National Champion)
  • Various volunteering associated with athletics (25-30 hours)
  • 50+ hours of shadowing physicians of various disciplines
  • Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC)
  • Pre-Med Club
  • Recently started as volunteer research assistant in the med school associated with my undergrad institution
I was initially a computer science major, hence my delay in starting medical volunteering and shadowing. I am now planning to graduate this spring with a biology/chemistry degree.

With my commitments to athletics and other organizations I didn't believe I had time for research during most of my undergraduate career if I wanted to maintain my high GPA. Trying to find opportunities during my final semester of college proved difficult as well. It is still up in the air about to what extent I will be able to be involved with the one research opportunity on campus I did find.