3rd year EM rotation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Late Bloomer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I can't seem to find any posts directly answering this. I'm a 3rd yr DO student looking for a EM rotation at a site with a residency so I can get a SLOE. My home site is a small rural hospital (no chance of SLOE) and I'm not scheduled to go there until 4th year. If any of you know of any AOA or ACGME hospitals that don't use VSAS and will allow 3rd years to rotate, please let me know.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know about SLOEs, but while looking around for elective rotations for myself for 3rd year I saw South Pointe Hospital near Cleveland has EM for 3rd years. It's an AOA program. (So far my elective research is 100% geography-based, so that's all I know about it).

I don't know about SLOEs, but while looking around for elective rotations for myself for 3rd year I saw South Pointe Hospital near Cleveland has EM for 3rd years. It's an AOA program. (So far my elective research is 100% geography-based, so that's all I know about it).
Thank you! I'm gonna look into them

Members don't see this ad :)
I'd highly recommend waiting until 4th year to get SLOEs (or at least till your final rotation of M3).

The purpose of SLOEs is to compare you to other rotating students at the same time. If you rotate as an M3 with M4s you'll be at a huge disadvantage and could potentially get a bad letter.

I'd highly recommend waiting until 4th year to get SLOEs (or at least till your final rotation of M3).

The purpose of SLOEs is to compare you to other rotating students at the same time. If you rotate as an M3 with M4s you'll be at a huge disadvantage and could potentially get a bad letter.
Very valid point. I was intending to wait until May or June, last 2 months of 3rd year. It just puts me behind the 8 ball when I don't have a home site that's affiliated with a residency