MD 4.0 cGPA, haven't taken the MCAT yet

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KT1440

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All

I will be taking the MCAT in Janurary, so I know its hard to say my true chances. I graduated in May and indecision left me without a definite course in life.

With that said, I am primarily looking for weaknesses in my credentials. I am looking at two years off between now and med school.. This aggravates me because I want to get on with my life and I don't like the uncertainty. However, this is unfortunately how it played out. Like I said, I want to identify weaknesses in my application so I can use this time to build them up.

Ok, here it is

cGPA: 4.0

MCAT: Haven't taken it yet!

Clinical Volunteer: I did a little hospice volunteering my Junior year. I lost two grandparents in 8 months that year, so that was a short lived endeavor. I did 15 hours at a retirement in both independent and memory care. Not sure if this is entirely clinical.

Shadowing: Emergency department - 35 hours
Surgery Center - 16 hours
Cardiologist - 8 hours
Home care Physician - 8 hours
(This was all part of a competitive pre-health practicum class that I was enrolled in my junior year.)

Research: 2.5 years of researching in a Cell Biology Lab. I have two publications, one of which I was first author on. Gave many different presentations during that time. After my graduation I spent a month in China on a research grant studying pollination.

Nonclinical Volunteering: This is probably the weakest point in my application. I have done food drives, feed my starving children, and state park cleanup/ restoration.

Employment: Just started a part job as a medical scribe in the emergency department. After my test date, Ill either go full time or find another part time job.