4.0 GPA, 37 MCAT but only 1 semester research, unpublished. Schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theSof

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm an AZ resident, 1st-time applicant in my last year at University of Arizona. I have fairly strong basic statistics, but I've only spent one semester doing research so far and I don't have much to show for it. I have plenty of volunteering experience, clinical and otherwise. My problem is that all the great schools seem to especially value research, and I'm not sure where to apply.

I don't care so much about prestige, just places I can get in (and ideally be in the least debt upon graduation). UACOM is my first choice obviously. Other recommendations?

Schools I'm currently considering:
Arizona
Wisconsin
Baylor
Mayo
Stanford
Michigan
Vanderbilt
UT Houston
UT Southwestern

Thanks guys!

Members don't see this ad.

Your app sounds good! I would definitely add some more schools though. Your list is top heavy and OOS state school heavy. That's not to say you won't get any action from the schools you've listed, but best to play it safe! I'd be surprised if you don't get into your state school.

I would add your other state school (Phoneix or Tuscon, depending on which you haven't added) add some mid-tiers as well. Consider schools like Ohio state, NYU, Einstein, etc.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'd be nervous applying to that few schools. Also, Wisconsin isn't really OOS friendly to applicants who don't have ties to the region.

I'd be nervous applying to that few schools. Also, Wisconsin isn't really OOS friendly to applicants who don't have ties to the region.