4.0 uGPA, 39 MCAT, EC's good enough for the top?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cinclus

Vitamin H Purveyor
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know my numbers are really strong, but I'm kind of worried about my below-average clinical experience and volunteering. I am applying this cycle, definitely to some in-state safeties, but I also feel like I can apply to the high-ranking research schools, based on my numbers and my years of research experience. I have provided a tentative school list beneath my info. What do you all think? Go for more top schools? Fewer? Do I have too many safeties? Are there any other schools you could suggest?

uGPA:4.0
grad GPA: 3.99
MCAT: 39N (12 PS, 12 VR, 15 BS).

I'm a full-time grad student and Florida resident.
I will have my Master's by December.
I have 3+ years of molecular biology research experience.
I have plenty of long-term hobbies, awards, honors, and scholarships.
I was a grad student TA for 2 years and for 5 different courses.
I have about 110 hours of ER volunteering.
I have 30 hours of shadowing in two different specialties.
I only have about 15 non-clinical, post-high school volunteer hours.
I will be continuing my ER volunteering and the shadowing.
I have AWESOME LORs, including a fantastic one from my grad PI.

Tentative school list:

Florida Atlantic University
University of Florida
University of South Florida
University of Central Florida
University of Miami

Emory University

University of Alabama

Wake Forest University
University of North Carolina
Duke University

Vanderbilt University

Cornell University

Tulane University

University of Virginia

I appreciate everyone's help! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Apply to more top, you are more than qualified