502 MCAT (129 biology), low gpa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rvangel

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a graduate from UofT, and I had a sucky gpa from my undergrad (3.0). I made some lousy choices while doing my undergrad by taking hard courses, and more courses than I can afford and hence my gpa. I also have a phobia for exams, and everyone that know me comments on it. I get stressed out and sometimes even blanks out.

I did my MCATs in August and got a 495. (C/P - 124 CARS -121 B/B - 126 P/S-124. ) I was expecting this low score, because I totally freaked out and blanked out during the exam.
3 weeks later I redid my MCAT and scored a 502 (C/P - 124 CARS 123 B/B - 129 P/S- 126).

I have loads of EC's, and I am actually proud of them.

I am not even trying Canadian schools because I am an international student and the chances of me getting is nil.

What are my chances of getting into a US/Asutralian med school? Or what MD programs can I try? Please help!

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

US MD chances with those stats are vanishingly low for a domestic applicant. http://edge.studentdoctor.net/wamc/White_Applicants.png
The average of your two scores is the equivalent of about a 24 MCAT.

If you are an international applicant, I cannot recommend a US application. The median MCAT for an international matriculant is the equivalent of 514. The median gpa is 3.77.

Last edited by a moderator:
Members don't see this ad :)
Hi All,

I am a graduate from UofT, and I had a sucky gpa from my undergrad (3.0). I made some lousy choices while doing my undergrad by taking hard courses, and more courses than I can afford and hence my gpa. I also have a phobia for exams, and everyone that know me comments on it. I get stressed out and sometimes even blanks out.