6 month break between undergrad and pharm school. What to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bogos

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm sort of burnt out from undergrad/applications. I will start my break after graduating in March. What is something I can do over this time period that will unwind me, and REALLY make me want to go back to studying?

Couple of things about me:
I'm not very disciplined (my performance in school is almost completely dependent on motivation) so I really need to get my **** together before school starts.

I've been working as a tech for about 2 years (want to quit, but need money)

I don't think I have the money to "travel"

I would like to relearn Spanish, take Anatomy, possibly tutor/mentor kids, and get more involved in my hobbies, but idk if they're going to prevent me from being "ready to learn" or not. Most people have told me to not study.

Members don't see this ad.

Or you could do what I know you'll do and just drop out of school and do something completely different than pharmacy. Everyone I know who goes on breaks or says this "I need to get myself together" crap never does. You need to keep on this train or you'll get off only to never return. Disaster waiting to happen.

Reactions: 1 user
Things to prepare you for pharmacy school:
  1. Vices: Build up a repertoire of hobbies and things you do to unwind and destress. Hiking, running, weightlifting, yoga, swimming, biking, cooking, music, etc. Get a head start in learning about things that make you happy now while you have the time. You'll need them once school starts and the grind begins. Keep on eye on your peers who do not have any positive vices and hobbies in their life vs the ones that do. Their is a big difference in attitude and productivity when you are able to effectively manage stressors in your life.