A Confused International Student Needs Your Help... Please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kaycee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got my undergraduate degree in Biochemistry/Microbiology from my home country Nigeria with a 3.99 GPA on a 5.0 scale. I intend moving over to the US in a few months to begin a masters program in a related field. My main worry is;

#will bagging a masters degree improve my chances?

#Do I still need to take all the pre reqs in a US school?

# Is taking the pre reqs the same a s post bacc programme?

#are there cgpas given in the post bacc programme, please if so will my cgpa from there be used instead of the one gotten from my bachelors In Nigeria?

#What will be your candid advise for some one in my situation, because I am deeply worried and utterly confused.... Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

1.) Depends on if you have the main requirements.

2.) Yes.

3.) Yes.

4.) I'm not sure if cGPA's are weighed in altogether or if there's a separate GPA for undergrad and another GPA for post-bach. Maybe someone who has done a graduate program can chime in.

5.) Just visit the aamc website and see what the general requirements for schools are and get them. :)

1.) Depends on if you have the main requirements.

2.) Yes.

3.) Yes.

4.) I'm not sure if cGPA's are weighed in altogether or if there's a separate GPA for undergrad and another GPA for post-bach. Maybe someone who has done a graduate program can chime in.

5.) Just visit the aamc website and see what the general requirements for schools are and get them. :)
Graduate, post bac and undergrad grades are listed separately. Post bac grades are then averaged into undergrad grades. Graduate grades are not.
Non-Canadian international transcripts are not accepted by AMCAS. DO schools do accept international transcripts.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)