a few questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sakab

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an entering freshman at an undergraduate institution with the prospect of majoring in chemistry. I'm very interested in the pharmacy field and want to enter pharmacy school in the future, but I have some questions regarding the pre-pharmacy process and what not. :confused:

1. I've read that most people acquire their B.S. before entering pharmacy school. Does that mean they have their B.S. before they apply as well, or do they apply in their junior or senior year (in undergrad) and the pharmacy school assumes that they will have their B.S. degree before entering the pharmacy program? In either case (whichever one is correct), when would you recommend both taking the PCAT and applying to pharmacy schools (I want to apply early)? Do most people apply during two different cycles to maximize their chance? If so, when should I apply?

2. Should I ONLY take pre-req classes during my freshman/sophomore year, and then focus on the classes I need to fulfill my major during my junior/senior year? Would I have enough time for all the pre-reqs in two years, or do you think I would have to take some summer classes (for the lesser important courses such as economics, public speaking, etc) as well? (If I need to take summer classes...) Is taking summer classes at my undergrad worth the money (over taking them at a CC)?

3. Do 2+4, 2+3, etc. routes only apply to high school students? As an undergraduate freshman, can I apply to any programs that will transfer me into a pharmacy school right after I complete my pre-reqs+PCAT (saving me 2 years of undergrad)?