A little worried about a possible downward trend in my scores, would like some perspective/advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

serendipitee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been a long-time lurker, but this is my first time posting. Thank you in advance for any help. :)

I have been studying for the MCAT for about 3.5 months now and am taking it in 2 weeks. The first couple of months were rough because I was working as a scribe and only recently quit so I could dedicate more time to studying. I studied very hard initially and I think I started to burn out (ironically after I had more free time) because I haven't been able to motivate myself.

I actually scored better last month after I buckled down studying.

Scores are below, in the order I took each exam.

aamc 3 - 29 (10/9/10) - Took the test after sleeping 4 hours and was extremely anxious while taking it. After I got the score I basically had an emotional breakdown and studied for a good 2 weeks straight before taking any other tests.
aamc 4 - 38 (13/12/13)
aamc 8 - 37 (14/11/12)
aamc 11 - 34 (12/10/12)
aamc 7 - 34 (10/10/14); just taken today

My bio grades are somewhat stable. I know I have to refresh on content because all my points lost on aamc 11 were from discretes, but I'm not super concerned. I'm more worriedabout the PS scores... I've been noticing that I'm making more careless errors now, as most of my points are lost on discrete questions. I also make stupid flubs with simple concepts. I am grateful that my situation isn't terrible - I'm still scoring decently. But I would really like to maximize my score and am worried that I'll screw up PS badly :/

I really appreciate any input. Thank you all so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Why did you take AAMC 11 so early?

Have you been taking breaks? One reason for the trend could be burnout.