A question about the physician shortage and practice style

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

What is more important to you?

• Maintaining a certain number of RVUs to maintain salary

Votes: 3 27.3%
  • Seeing only a certain number of patients in order to provide the best care--that's why I chose FM

Votes: 8 72.7%

• Total voters

rachmoninov3

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a recently minted Family physician practicing in a small city of about 75K, and working urgent care for the hospital corporation. I have found that I can easily see 30 patients (or more) in a 10 hour day. These twenty minute encounters would be more than enough to maintain a full patient load an meet RVUs if I wanted to change to the outpatient only FM (which I don't because then I couldn't also work part time as a hospitalist---I know medical care is messed up). The most frequent complaint I see in urgent care is that someone's PCP can't see them for 3 months. It seems like very few people have any kind of open access scheduling. I do not know what the barrier to open access is (hence the poll question). Given the numbers that I see, and with 3 other urgent cares in town, it would seem like someone could easily afford to have 2-3 open access appointments every half day.

So please tell me what the barriers to open access are in your practice. Are you trying to keep RVUs up? Would you rather have less money and a better lifestyle and see less patients but provide better care? Or perhaps something else?