A veterinary and engineering degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

delusion

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone know if having these two degrees can give a different career pathway instead of just private practice? Can it be used for example, in a similar fashion as the biomedical engineering degree?

Members don't see this ad.

interesting...is that 2 degrees or a combined one?!? never heard of a combined vet/engineering degree?!?

I have a bachelors in biomedical engineering and will be starting vet school in a month. I hope to mix the two degrees by doing some clinical research. I'd love to get into designing prosthetic limbs for animals. I know there is a lot of that kind of research going on for horses, but I'm more of a small animal type person. They do have all those doggy wheelchair contraptions which also appeal to my engineering side! Anyways- I just wanted to say that I am trying to do exactly what you are talking about- hopefully put my engineering spin on vet med- and I think there are actually more engineer-vet people out there than you think. The sky's the limit with the kinds of things we can do between the two degrees...

I do highly recommend a degree in biomed engr. because I think it was very interesting, makes you come out as a better problem solver, and makes you a more unique candidate for vet school.

Members don't see this ad :)
I actually saw a really interesting presentation this summer on biomechanics and physical therapy. So there is definitely research going on out there that would put your areas of expertise to use!!

I was a chemical engineering major and even just going into private practice, plan to use the knowledge I gained there. Other than private practice though, I think an engineering degree would really help a veterinarian in whatever field they're in to.