Abnormal Psychology and Mentally Ill Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted276313

Ok, I'm a psych student (as you can see below my avatar lol), and I also suffer from chronic mental illness. I was just wondering if there are any other psych students out there who plan to specialize in abnormal psychology that suffer from a chronic, or disabling mental illness.

The way I see it, I'll have a better understanding of where patients would come from since I have suffered from a few different illnesses myself, and I would be able to give them advice based upon personal experience.

It's funny, because I have yet to start my freshman year (classes being on Sept. 1st), and last time I was in the ER for psych reasons, the doctors were all amazed at my understanding of what was going on in my mind, and how I was basically able to tell them what was wrong not only down to a category of illness, but to the illness itself.

Members don't see this ad.

Wow, what a can of worms. This is probably one of the more controversial questions in the field, I imagine.

It's pretty well known how many people are drawn to a psych major after being in therapy for a serious disorder themselves. This is great, but of course there's some caveats..

For one, and most importantly, I think you should be honest with yourself and really, truly try to find out if you want to help others, or if you want to figure out yourself. You have a lot of time to do this, being a freshman, but you'd be better off finding this out now, rather than when you're graduating. You don't need a psychology BA to learn more about yourself.