Academic Dishonesty and Chances of Admission

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UpTheCreek

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a freshman at a public university who was recently caught for academic dishonesty for having gotten answers for a notebook quiz in my Chemistry lab. I'm among several other hundred students who are receiving a zero for the assignment (another student posted the questions to the group me and I used them to write down the pertinent information in my notebook) but there will be no mark on my transcript.

How much of a deal breaker will this be for a med school should I maintain good grades, not receive any other such violation, and prove myself to be an honest, hard working student in the years to come?

Members don't see this ad.

If there's no mark on your transcript then the only blemish will be the grade in your chemistry lab, correct? Non-issue in my opinion.

Technically you'll be ok if you stick to what you said above.

Realistically, if you cheat on something so mundane like a quiz...... like come on.

When I was in undergrad, I don't think there was a single student that didn't do something that could be considered cheating by someone. I don't think copying someone's lab notebook should be viewed in the same light as cheating on an exam nor do I think it makes someone innately immoral.

Hell we had an online music appreciation class that had a widely circulated PDF with every test/quiz answer, and the teachers all knew about it. It was one of those classes where the school feigned ignorance to inflate the GPAs of our athletes. I would estimate over the years about 100,000 students (including plenty of future doctors) have taken this class, accepted the free A, and saved 100 hours in the process.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
You know there's a problem with society when we're ok justifying questionable actions because "Everyone does it"