Accepted to bu and rutgers. Which mph concentration is right for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which conc gets u more jobs higher pay wise and h1b sponsorhsip

• Hpm

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Epidemiology

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters

Drshrujai

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello.

I am a doctor from india. I have close to 5 yrs of work experience with novartis in the drug safety dept. pharmacovigilance expert to be specific. I applied to boston univ for spring 2015.(hpm) i also got accepted to the rutgers urban health admin program. I have currently deferred my admission to both as i am awaiting decisons from emory and hopkins and univ of north carolina.

Firstly if i do get in to the other schools too.. Which would be the best to go with?

Secondly i am on a h4 visa and gettin a decent paying job would be my first priority. I am open to both epidemiology and hpm? Which of these concentrations opens more doors for a job that is high paying along with an opportunity to get a sponsorship for a h1 b. I am unable to decide which is better epi or hpm.

Boston is terribly expensive but gives an option of dual concentration and also has an added pharmaceuticals certification program.
Can some one please guide on which concentration would be better or me considering my background.

I want to go back to the pharma sector or attach to a hospital.

Members don't see this ad.

What is your reasoning behind wanting either degree? In terms of pay, you're generally going to find better paying jobs in HPM than epidemiology. However, I don't know that it would necessarily better your chances to get sponsorship for an h1b. Something you should consider is if you can't find a job here, which will give you better opportunities in India?