Addressing colleague's statements on social media

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Throwawayaccount67

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! So using a throw-away account as my other account has posts that may give hints as to what program I'm in. Anyhow, here it goes:

I'm currently a doctoral student in a Counseling Psychology program. A newer doctoral student has been frequently posting what many in our program would consider offensive remarks on Facebook regarding LGBTQ+ people, women, and racial minorities. Usually along the lines of how the "pay gap" between women and men is not real, that racial minorities "just don't work as hard," and that LGBTQ+ people should stop "complaining" because their "feelings are hurt."

What would be a way to address this issue with this person? Should I just let it go and ignore it? I do not want to necessarily name this person to the faculty or have this person face any negative repercussions. However, I have been thinking of speaking to some of our faculty on this situation as well. I genuinely worry about this person seeing women or other clients belonging to marginalized groups.

As far as I know, this person's beliefs have not directly affected their clinical work (though they have just started seeing clients.) However, this person's first research project was turned down for being what one of the feminist faculty considered to be offensive to racial minorities, so they probably have some idea that this person harbors these views. Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Unfortunately, being a ****ty person in real life does not preclude someone from being successful in their chosen career. Assuming that they are competent and ethical in their clinical work, that is. As long as I didn't see this student personally offend another student or client/patient, I'd probably leave it alone.