Admission Doubts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MixedOriginal

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a senior undergrad. student with aspirations of being a physician. Sparing all of the nitty gritty details, I have explored many different career options but feel that being a physician is where I will feel that I can contribute most. I have a sub-3.0 uGPA that I am, obviously, not proud of. However, due to financial constraints, I have worked nearly full-time (30 hours/week) in a hospital throughout the entirety of my time in undergrad.. Assuming I did well (27-30) on the MCAT, what do you all think would be a way to get an interview to medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

I can't sugar coat this, with a <3.0 cGPA, the only way you're getting an interview is with a six figure donation check in hand.

You have some serious grade repair to do.

A 27-30 isn't well on the MCAT for MD schools as well. Fine for DO, but the GPA is pretty much auto-reject.

I am a senior undergrad. student with aspirations of being a physician. Sparing all of the nitty gritty details, I have explored many different career options but feel that being a physician is where I will feel that I can contribute most. I have a sub-3.0 uGPA that I am, obviously, not proud of. However, due to financial constraints, I have worked nearly full-time (30 hours/week) in a hospital throughout the entirety of my time in undergrad.. Assuming I did well (27-30) on the MCAT, what do you all think would be a way to get an interview to medical school?

Considering the average mcat of matriculants to MD programs is at least 31, a 27-30 really isn't all that good. Combine that with a sub-3 GPA and you are dead in the water. If you want medical school, you're going to need to start earning A's, and lots of them.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)