Advantages/Disadvantages of working in a VA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surfdevl02

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello-

I am going to graduate in July and am interviewing for an Anesthsiologist position at a VA Hospital. I wanted to get everyones thoughts on working in a VA if you have experience or know friends working there now. From what i understand the pay is WAY below market value but the lifestyle can be good but this is all second hand chatter.

Does anyone have concrete salary knowledge of VA positions? What makes it a good lifestyle position? It is generally a good case mix? I haven't been to a VA since i was a medical student so i'm going into the interview fairly blind about what to expect.

Thanks for any thoughts that you guys might have and good luck on the job trails if you're liking like myself!!

Members don't see this ad.

which VA are you interviewing at? they are all a little different.

this isn't concrete info, but this is what i've heard re: VA jobs. your starting pay is low. but each year it steadily increases. your starting vacation time is also very low. but you accumulate more and more vacation for each year that you work. the VA also offers a great pension. so basically, it is the type of job that is worth it financially only if you decide to stay there for a LONG time. as far as numbers go, i believe that a fellowship trained guy starts at around 200K. that number could be wrong though.

as for the lifestyle, the good thing about the VA is that it seems to be a very secure job. the government also covers malpractice so the fear of litigation is a lot less. so those are a couple of things that you won't have to stress over as much as in private practice.