Advantages of MD/PHD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vicinihil

Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
just curious but what drives you guys to be MD/PHD...is it the love of the research? How much medicine do you practice in the future as a doctor with an MD/PHD same hospital setting or laboratory setting.

Members don't see this ad.

vicinihil said:
just curious but what drives you guys to be MD/PHD...is it the love of the research? How much medicine do you practice in the future as a doctor with an MD/PHD same hospital setting or laboratory setting.

I think people will give you a lot of different answers, depending on their individual interests and backgrounds. I am a PhD student wanting to go to medical school after I graduate, and my rationale is that I definitely want to do research but I would like to do clinical research as opposed to straight bench research. People with MD/PhDs can mostly practice or can mostly do bench work, depending on their interests and careers. I would like to do some combination where I see patients, do research, and teach.

What does an MD/PhD mean to me? Granted, my answer is biased in that my goal is to do 80-90% basic science research in the future.
1. Opportunity to learn the vast array of knowledge that medicine has to offer. This enables the investigator to ask interesting questions that non-MD investigators may not come up with as naturally.
2. Get excellent training as a scientist (but you can get this through a straight PhD program). MD training doesn't train you to be a scientist.